Satisfying Both My Chocolate and Cookie Cravings

Updated on 17th April 2013 for Verdict and a soft center variation

Hubby and I walked pass a store today and I had actually wanted to buy a bag of chocolate chips cookies. He stopped me and asked, “why do you want to buy that when you can do-it-yourself?”

Well so I put it back sheepishly like a kid who has been rejected by mum. Anyway that incident left me thinking crazily about cookies the entire day and eventually craving for it. I am not so sure to say if I am lucky or unlucky to say that I am just staying above a 24 hour supermarket which means I can get almost anything I want at anytime of the day or night (more $$ spent). So when hubby saw me buying butter, chocolate chips and eggs at 8.30pm, he can only shake his head (-_-“).

Seriously the craving is so great that I decided to bake some Triple Chocolate Chips Cookies Yum………… :). The recipe is very much similar to my American Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe except that I substituted a portion of the flour for cocoa powder and  this time I added in baking powder and white chocolate chips of course. 🙂

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Look at how deliciously sinful this cookie is. My kids were already placing orders on how many of these yummies that they will like in their snack box in school.

Here you go. This recipe makes about 50 cookies.

Ingredients Needed:

  • 280 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 400 g Top flour
  • 76 g Cocoa Powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 280 g light brown sugar
  • 224 g granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp natural vanilla extract
  • 250g White Chocolates ( I use Nestle)
  • 300g Chocolate Chips (I use Hersheys)

Method (With some random photos)

  1. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, bicarbonate of soda and baking powder. Set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, cream butter to incorporate air.
  3. Add sugar and salt, whisk till light and fluffy.
  4. Beat in eggs one at a time till creamy.
  5. Mix in vanilla essence.
  6. The wet mixture (butter, sugar, vanilla essence, maple syrup & eggs) should be creamy in texture.
  7. Add in the set-aside sifted flour mixture to the wet mixture. Mix till well combined.
  8. Mix in the chocolate chips.
  9. Press a piece of plastic wrap on the dough and refrigerate for 24-36 hours preferably . (If you can’t wait like me tonight, I just chilled the dough for 30 mins.)
  10. Before baking, preheat oven to 175°c
  11. Scoop 1 tablespoon to form a golf-ball size dough onto baking paper.  Leave plenty of room for spreading. Bake for 18-20 minutes or till golden brown. (I bake mine for full 20 minutes)
  12. Transfer to cooling rack for cooling. Store in airtight container to last about 1 week (though my hardly last more than a day or 2.
Whisking the egg into the butter, sugar and salt mixture

Whisking the egg into the butter, sugar and salt mixture

Sifting in the dry mixture

Sifting in the dry mixture

Combine both wet and dry mixture well

Combine both wet and dry mixture well

Add in the chocolate chips

Add in the chocolate chips

Scoop with a rounded spoon to form "golf balls

Scoop with a rounded spoon to form “golf balls

Place on baking paper and bake at 175 degree for 20 mins

Place on baking paper and bake at 175 degree for 20 mins

Let it cool before storing.

Let it cool before storing.

Now its all ready for me to bring to school. :)

Now its all ready for me to bring to school. 🙂

*Things to note: The middle part of cookies will still be soft, but it will harden on standing. Leave to cool for about 10-15 minutes.

P.S: As I am writing now and waiting for those cookies to cool down, I saw my hubby dunking in those cookies in milk when he’s the one who is so against me making them. (“,) 

The Verdict and A Soft Center Variation

The taste is great but hubby thought it will be great if we can have bite size pieces instead and because I also like the center to be slightly softer, here is what I did with my remainibg batch of dough:

Instead of rolling then into a “golf ball” size, I half the size as well as the baking time down to 10 mins..

You can see from the initial 6 giant cookies, I can now bake 12 smaller cookies at half the time.

You can see from the initial 6 giant cookies, I can now bake 12 smaller cookies at half the time.

The outcome was beautiful with a crispy edge and a chewy center. Also becaue of its smaller size, it was relatively easy to eat. 🙂

More recipes can be found here.

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts

Leave a Reply

