Ni-Tamago aka Lava Eggs

Exams are over and I can finally blog an entry or 2. There is so much that I want to share from Clemens’s 1st school speech and drama concert to a few recipies. But since I have not been blogging about recipies for a really long time, I thought I will share a really simple one. 🙂

I was really excited when I saw this-Shoyu based Ramen on Wokking Mum Elaine’s blog it was the ni-tamago or commonly known as lava egg that caught my eyes. I have always been curious to make this and after looking at her 2 parts entry (Part 1- Shows you how to make the eggs and Part 2-How to Marinade the Eggs), I realise that it is pretty easy because it is all about TIMING!!

Anyway I have summarised my experience of doing this lava egg in a single entry. And I started making the marinade first as it will need some time to cool down.

A. The Marinade

The Marinade

Ingredients

  • 5 tbsp Light Soy Sauce
  • 3 tbsp Hot Water (So that I don’t need to boil the mixture)
  • 3 tbsp Mirin
  • 2 tbsp Sugar (I use frutose sugar)
  • 1 tsp Superior Dark Soy Sauce

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients together and stir well.
  2. Once the sugar has melted, let the marinade cool completely.

*This marinade is for about 2-3 eggs.

So now while letting the marinade cool down, we can start to cook the eggs.

B. Cooking Those Eggs

Ingredients

  • 60g Eggs (I use un-refrigerated eggs)

Method (With Step-By-Step Photo)

  1.  Boil a pot of water enough to cover the eggs.
  2. Reduce heat so that the water is just simmering. It is important as you do not want the eggs to ‘jump’ in the process and get cracked.
  3. Use a spoon to place the eggs into the simmering water very carefully.
  4. Let them cook for 5.5-6 minutes, uncovered.
  5. Prepare a bowl of ice water.
  6. Remove the eggs immediately and submerge in the ice-cold water for about 1min. This helps to stop the egg from cooking.
  7. Remove from ice-bath and gently tap on the shell of the egg. Carefully remove the shell.
  8. Place the lava eggs in a plastic bag and carefully pour the marinade into it to submerge them.
  9. Knot it, as it allows the marinade to surround the eggs completely. Let stand for 2-3 hours, shaking the bag occasionally to move the eggs around.
  10. To serve, drain eggs from marinade and cut into half.

**To note: The longer you steep the eggs, the darker they become and the firmer the yolks get, as the salty marinade draws the water out of them. so I guess that is why my yolk looks a little solidfy.

But anyway it still tasted really good that usually my boys who do not like yolks from hard-boiled eggs also finished it up. 🙂 Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Lunch is Served Just As The Way Damir Loves It. 🙂

And here is a picture to share of my not-so-successful attempt.

The Over-Cooked Yolks 😦

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts:

2 thoughts on “Ni-Tamago aka Lava Eggs

Leave a Reply

