Labour Day Is Indeed Labour Day

Happy Labour Day to All!!

Yup it is a holiday today but yet I am stuck working. Nope I am not stuck working in the office but I am stuck working to the demands of my 2 little boys. They were asking me to cook this and bake that for them since quite sometime ago and it was Nasi Lemak (aka coconut rice) that they wanted.

Our Home-Made Nasi Lemak

Well ok I know I coud have bought it for only perhaps S$2.00 at the hawker but somehow or rather I guess it seems to be different if it is lovingly cooked by mummy. I have come across many recipies some using butter, some using lemongrass, some adding ginger and some giving it a good fry before transferring it into the rice cooker. But at the end of the day, I still like my mum’s simple recipie of just using the coconut milk, salt and pandan leaves. Nothing too fanciful but yet light on the palate with the frangrance of coconut whaffling into the nose for every mouthful of rice.

It has been quite sometime since I last cook this dish and am quite hesitant about sharing this even with the thumps up of my hubby and the screming declacaration of my 2 boys, “Mummy this is better than the ones outside!!” But along came my mum and after a few mouthful of it, she was nodding her head in approval and that is when I decided to share this with you guys.

It is indeed really simple with only 4 easily founded ingredients in Singapore. The following recipie is just nice for 4 person in the family with some extras for a 2nd helping.

Ingredients

  • 400g Rice (approx. 2.5 cups)
  • 300ml Coconut Milk (You can choose to squeezee out the coconut milk from freshly grated coconut or buy the off-shelf pack.)
  • 300ml Water
  • 2-3pcs Pandan Leaves
  • 1/2tbs Salt (I am using low sodium salt so you might need less if yours is the common table salt)

Method (With Step-By-Step Photo)

  1. Wash and rinse out the rice.
  2. Pour in 300ml of coconut milk. Do not use coconut cream as it is too thick. It prevents the rice from cooking well and gives a rather nasty sticky taste in the mouth.
  3. P0ur in 300ml of water. I have ratioed the coconut milk with the amount of water to 1:1. The total of this mixture should be the amount  of water you will need to cook you daily white rice if you get what I mean.
  4. Add in the salt and mix the rice mixture well.  Do a taste test. The salt will enhance the flavour of the cooked rice. I have used slightly a little more salt as my salt is the low sodium kind and is not very salty. You might like to start with 1/4 tablespoon first, taste for the saltiness and gradually add more if any is needed.
  5. Wash the pandan leaves cleanly and tie it into a knot. Trim off the ends.
  6. Add in the panda leaves. The leaves will further bring out the fragrance os the rice. Now the rice is ready to cook.
  7. Half way through the cooking time, open up the lid and give the rice a quick fluff. Close and continue cooking till rice is ready. In giving a quick fluff, this ensures that every grain of the rice is cooked and also prevents the bottom of the rice from burning.
  8. When rice is ready, serve hot with the side dishes you like. I kept mine simple with the boys’ favourite usuals- fried sunny side-up and fried chicken wing.

See really simple right? Nothing too difficult. Somethings are best kept simple. 🙂

My boys happily finishing their 2nd serving

Have I also mentioned that I baked a Orange Chiffon Cake for the boys? The taste is really great but the height not really great. The texture not cottony-soft enough to my liking. I am not sure if I have added too much flour or I have not beaten the yolk well enough or my cake pan a little too huge hence it can’t rise well. so I am not sharing it at the moment till I do a little more experiement on it. But I have got the pictures to share though.

Ever seen such a short chiffon cake?

Texture is light and airy but a little too structured for my liking. Love the orangy taste of it.

Whatever it is, passing through a day like this makes me feel I am totally blessed especially looking at my boys enjoying a game while I am updating this entry tonight. Especially with the boys loving their food and Clemens asking to reserve a slice of cake to be brought to school tommorow, nothing really can satisfy me other than these. 🙂

Playing A Game of "Don't Fall Down"

What can be a better way to spend a day like this? 🙂

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts

Leave a Reply

