Learning Spelling Without The Tears

Going into Primary 1 is indeed quite a transition for Clemens from once-a-week homework (during kindy time) to the daily homework he gets now-a-days not to mention the class tests he has to participate in.

His spelling list has also extended from 5 words a week (also during kindy time) to 10 words a week. And oh boy, it is such a pain to get him learning those words. With him sitting for a straight 2-3 hours writing but mind already wondering elsewhere (perhaps to the next dimension) and getting only 2 out of 10 correct, really frustrates the hell outta of me. It ended with me behaving really badly that once I forbade him to sleep plus a few stroke of the cane.

This incident was on my mind alot that sets me thinking how I should motivate him positively. So once when I was at the shop-Growing Fun, I found this:

MAGNETIC Hangman.........

Hangman use to be a game I use to play with my friends. Although it is not as hightech as what the boys have now where we use to draw it on paper, I still had tremendous fun. Anyway it brought back some fun childhood memories which is something that I will like to share with my kids and so I bought it.

It was a hit with my boys because now spelling has become a game for them. So I told them in order to play the game with me they will need to know how to spell and they are allowed to test me as well. If only you can see the michevious beam on their face when they heard the phrase, “TEST MUMMY???? kekeke.” 🙂

Can you see a happy boy enjoying himself or a boy learning spelling?

Anyway this is so much easier than me going, “Why are you still dreaming?; Have you finished?; Why are you so slow?………..” At least this time when I caught him drifting off again, I went, “Oh…. I thought you are done. I was waiting for you to play hangman with me when you are finish learning spelling.” The result is instaneous bringing him back to his papers and him coming back to me shouting smirkly, “I am done mum!!” That is when I begin to test him using hangman and him testing me.

You must be wondering  why I allowed him to test me. This is because:

  1. He must know his spelling well before he can test me.
  2. With me making ‘stupid mistakes’ allowing him to ‘hang’ me helps boost his confidence and interest.
  3. It will also kind of improve our mother and son relationship.

A Word of Advice Though

This method that I am using is only a motivator tricking him into thinking that learning is fun. So if you are also thinking of trying this, this does not mean your kid does not need to learn their spelling. They will still need to know how to spell before they can play the game.

What I usually do is to breakdown the words for him. For exampleanteater’it will be broken up into ‘ant-eat-er’. Another instance where he gets a super long word likehippopotamus’,  I tried to incorporate rythmn to it by turning it into,Mrs H, Mrs I, Mrs P…..P.O.P.O, Mrs T, Mrs A, Mrs M.U.S. If you are wondering why is it all MRS? Yup Clemens did ask me too so I told him because the hippopotamus-Gloria in Magadascar is a lady too. 🙂

Well this has work well for us for the past 2 weeks and I am crossing my fingers that this is going to last us for at least till the next 3 to 6 monhs where he will be able to learn independantly.

Anyway if you are wondering what is in the set, I am sharing it here with you guys:

Instructions On How To Play

You can find alphabets, parts of hangman, pointers & blank magnets

Best of all because it is so light and a good size, it is portable and because it is magnetic, it is not easy to loose the pieces as well. Hence you can Take ‘N’ Play Anywhere.They are easy for kids to use and hard to loose. Seeee………

Don't you agree that it sticks really well?????

Other than this interesting set that I have bought from Growing Fun, I have bought some others as well. I will share it with you again when I find the time to do so.

The Educational Toys I have Bought

Leave a Reply

