Cake Pops For Kids

For the past few weeks I have been sharing soup recipes which I guess is getting really boring. However I have also said that I will be sharing something interesting this week. And that is ………. Cakes Pops!

The 1st time I had this cake pop was when my hubby bought us a couple perfume- the Issey Miyake‘s Summer Collection and they gave the cake pops as their door gifts. I at first skeptical about how it tasted. How can a cake that is mashed or shape into a pop be any good? But how wrong I was. It tasted amazing and very truffle like with the cake texture still intact. Only much nicer. Moist! I thought this must be very difficult to make. I even called up the store to enquire about it as I had wanted to order it for Clemens’ Birthday party (but found it a bit pricy).

Anyway all was forgotten till this coming Children’s Day. I suddenly had decided to Google it and it never hit me that it will be that easy that we can even cheat on certain parts like buying a pound cake and smashing it all up and buying a can of frosting to mix into it. All this is thanks to Veronica’s Cornucopia who has shared the recipe and how-to-do it instructions.

Well being new to this, I was not yet prepared to take the short cut. I was tingling with excitement that there is something new for me to try (at least for me it is new). So I decided to bake and make the frosting from scratch, savouring and enjoying every process of it. Best of all, I decided to use her vegen recipe because this is also my 1st time baking a vegen cake. 🙂

Here is the original recipe for the vegen cake but I have done some minor changes to it. For example using margarine instead of vegetable oil and I have also half the recipe.

A. Baking the Cake

Ingredients Needed:

  • 300g Cake Flour
  • 200g Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1tsp Baking Soda
  • 50g Coco Powder
  • 75g Margarine (Melted)
  • 1tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1tbs Distilled Vinegar
  • 200g Cold Water.

Method (With Step-By-Step Photo)

*Note: Preheat oven to 175°c and grease 8’In by 8’In baking pan.

  1. Place 200g of brown sugar in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add in 1/2 tsp of salt.
  3. Sift in 50g of cocoa powder.
  4. Sift in 300g of cake flour and 1tsp of baking soda.
  5. Mix well all the dry ingredients with a spatula.
  6. Make three wells and put the 75g of melted margarine in one, the 1tsp of vanilla in another and the 1tbs of vinegar in the last. I think this is to prevent the vingegar from acting with the soda really fast.
  7. Add in the 200g of cold water.
  8. Mix well and really quickly with a spatula. You have to work really quickly because you would not want to overmix the flour letting the gluten toughen resulting in a heavy cake. Another reason is to you don’t want baking soda to finish reacting with the liquids to get a well-rise cake.
  9. Pour the batter into greased pan and tap it excessively on the work surface. This is to let the air bubble out. Bake it at 175°c for 30 minutes.
  10. Do the skewer test in the centre of the cake and make sure the skewer comes out clean. Let it cool.
  11. Cut the cake into cubes or you can choose to pull it off by the chunks.
  12. Put it into the food processor in batches and process it.
  13. It should resemble fine crumbs. Put aside while preparing to make the Shiny Chocolate Icing.

B. Shiny Chocolate Icing

Ingredients Needed:

  • 3 tbs Cornflour
  • 100g Sugar
  • 50g Cocoa Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 100g Soy Milk
  • 1tbs Margarine
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

 Method (With Step-By-Step Photo)

  1. Add 3 tbs of cornflour into a saucing pan.
  2. Add in 100g of sugar.
  3. Add in 50g of cocoa powder.
  4. Stir in 100g of soy milk over medium heat.
  5. Continue stirring till thicken.
  6. Remove from heat and still in 1 tbs of margarine and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract.

C. Making Those Pops

Ingredients Needed:

  • 1 recipe from A. Baking the Cake
  • 1 recipe from B. Shiny Chocolate Icing
  • 300g White Chocolate
  • 1 tbs Shortening
  • 50 lollipop sticks, Cello bags & foil tie

 Method (With Step-By-Step Photo):

  1. Pour in the shiny choco icing into the crumbs-like cake.
  2. Mix them together.
  3. Scoop 1tbs of mixture into palm and roll into a ball.
  4. Cover & chill overnight.
  5. Melt 50g of white chocolate with 1tsp of shortening. I use the water bath method where you 1st heat a pot of water and submerge a bowl filled with the chocolates and let it melt. Becarefull not to let it go too hot and make sure not to let any drop of liquid touch the chocolates. If not, it will size up.
  6. Dip one end of the lollipop sticks into the chocolate, then insert half way into each ball.
  7. Once there are stick in each cake ball, place them back into the fridge to chill further.
  8. Melt 250g of white chocolate with 1 tbs of shortening.
  9. You can tint the white chocolate with a little bit of food colouring to you desired coloured. I divded into 2 and tint it pink (for the girls) and blue (for the boys) respectively.
  10. Take out the cake pops 1 at a time from the fridge, dip and shake off access.
  11. Apply sprinkles if you wish, then insert into foam block to set up.  Repeat until all pops are dipped.
  12. Wrap it up and fasten it with a foil tie.

Overall, this was a rather enjoyable to do despite it being a little tedious. I am glad my boys were proud of it and have enjoyed it. 🙂 Though I know there is still a lot of room for improvement in my workmanship. By the way, with this amount, I got 43 1 tablespoon pops out of it.

All Ready & Pretty

Still Pretty even from above

Inside that pretty thing

My Little Boy All Happy

It is such a pity that I did not mange to snap a picture of Damir with those pops.

P.S: For next week recipe, it will still be a recipe from the oven. Do pop  by if you are interested.

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts:

4 thoughts on “Cake Pops For Kids

    • Dear Veronica,

      I think yours look way much better. But I have to tell you it really tasted great. But because I halved your recipie, I only got 43 1 tablespoon pops out of those which were mainly given to the boys for their party. 🙂

      I only had one and wished I had made more. The vegen cake was great too. especially when made into pops. 🙂

      Thanks so much for sharing your recipie.

      Best Ange

  1. Hi can I know where did u buy the small clear plastics? And did you store the finished packed product (including the plastic) n the fridge before bringing it to school?

  2. Hi Kendra, I bought the clear plastic from Phoon Huat (http://www.phoonhuat.com/). The store assistants from there are very helpful, if you can’t find it, you can always ask them. And yup I store the finished packed product in the fridge before bringing it to school. But of course you have to let the chocolate coating harden up before slipping into those plastics. 🙂 Hope this helps and happy baking 🙂

Leave a Reply

