Japanese Red Apple & Loin Pork Soup

If you can remember, I once bake some Kiss Cakes with Damir for his school project when the term’s theme was about how fruits can be made into food.

Well actually fruits can be used to be cooked into soup too. That is what exactly I am sharing with you today. This recipe has been adapted from one of the recipe books I have – Eric Teo’s Simply Soup. It has since been Clemens’ favourite soup.

The only thing I have changed from this recpie was the cut of the pork. It has specified to use Pork Shoulder but I had substitute it to Loin Pork (since that is the only cut of meat I have in my freezer)

Nutritional Fact

The soup claims to calms the mind, nourishes the lungs and other internal organs. It also quenches thirst. The best thing is I think it is very good for those who are watching their weight because it has minimal trace of fat and oil in this soup since loin pork is one of the leanest park of the meat.

Ingredients

  • 2 Big Red Apples (I used the Mutsu Fuji apples from NTUC)
  • 2 Medium size Carrots
  • 400g Lean Pork
  • 30g Yoke Choke
  • 30g Dried lily Bulbs
  • 2 pcs Honey dates
  • 10 g  Dried Tangerine Peel
  • 2.5L water
Things to Do Before Hand
  • Boil the 2.5L of water

Method (With Step-By-Step Photo)

  1. Blanched the pork loin in HOT water and cut into cubes. Cutting the meat into smaller pieces, enables the meat flavour to be fully extracted.
  2. Cut and de-seed the apples.
  3. Peel and cut the carrots into cubes.
  4. Soak and rinse dried lily bulbs in hot water for a couple of times. This removes the bitter taste from the lily bulb.
  5. Rinse tangerine peel, yoke choke and honey dates.
  6. Remove lid from the pot of boiling water.
  7. Place cubed pork loin in, bring to a boil and skim away all debris.
  8. Put all the other ingredients starting with carrots, apples and then the others (yoke choke, tangerine peel, lily bulbs and honey dates). Bring to a boil, then lower fire, cover and simmer for 2 hours.
  9. Season with a little salt and serve hot.

Personal Note:

Initially I thought that we do not need to simmer for 2 hours as the apple is a soft fruit. Hence after an hour, when I went to try the soup, I was a little disappointed with it being a little bland. At the end of the 2nd hour, I was rather surprise that the soup yet again taste different with a stronger and much more full bodied taste. I can taste the sweetness of the apples, and the refreshing smell of all the dried stuff like tangerine peels. It was indeed a really refreshing soup.

And I hope that you guys after trying it out will enjoy it just as much as I did.

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts

This post is linked to:

Leave a Reply

