Project With Damir: Kiss Cakes (with Step-By-Step Photos)

Kiss Cakes

Last week, Damir came back from school with a piece of notice from school asking us parents to do a home project with them base on the term’s theme for the Chinese class.

School Notice

Loosely translated, it says: This term, our theme is on Fruits. This week, we are teaching the students that fruits can also be made into food. Therefore we will like parents to prepare some food made from fruits to bring to school for the friends to observe and taste.

The moment, I saw this notice, I immediately thought of our unfinished strawberry jam. I was so tempted to just ask Damir to bring the bottle of jam to school but the thought of him feeling disappointed if he sees his friend bringing all the nice stuff like fruit cake made me feel guilty.

Anyway, I took out one of my baking book Baking Bible, started flipping and chance upon this Kiss Cakes recipe and it also so happen that I happen to have all the necessary ingredients to make them. So that was it, I started preparing all the needed stuffs. The smile on Damir’s face was definitely worth every thing despite me feeling all tired after work. His smile seems to be like  some sort of energizer battery for me. 🙂

Mother & Son Doing Project at 8pm

Enough said and for those interested in the recipe, please read on.

Ingredients Needed:

  • 125g Unsalted Butter (Softened & Cubed)
  • 1 Cup Castor Sugar
  • 2 Medium Eggs
  • 1 Cup Self- Raising Flour
  • 1 Cup Cornflour
  • Strawberry Jam, for spreading
  • Icing Sugar, for Dusting

* As in my baking book, it is given that 1 cup = 250ml 

Things to Prepare Before Hand:

  1. Measure out all ingredients
  2. Line baking tray with baking paper
  3. Preheat oven to 190ºc
Method:
  1. Whisk the butter to incorporate air. Do it till the butter is lighter in colour.
  2. Add sugar and whisk till it is light & fluffy.
  3. Beat in the eggs one at at time till creamy.
  4. Butter, sugar & eggs mixture should be light, creamy & pale in colour.
  5. Sift in cornflour and self-raising flour.
  6. Fold the flour with a spatula into the butter mixture to form a dough.
  7. Drop 1/2 teaspoon full of dough onto lined baking tray and flatten with the palm.
  8. Baked at 190ºc for 8 to 10 minutes or till pale golden brown and let it cool.
  9. When cooled, place a teaspoon of jam on a cookie shell.
  10. Place another cookie shell on it and sandwich then together.
  11. Dust with icing sugar.

Anyway just to clarify, this is NOT a cake recipe but a cookie recipe. The texture turn out really beautiful. Light, airy and crumbly. It seems to melt in the mouth with a full butter flavour. Even the cookie taste great on it’s own without any jam plus a cup of hot tea.

As it is my 1st time trying out this recipe, I find it a tad too sweet. Therefore the next time round, I am sure to reduce the castor sugar by 50g. I will also make sure that I chill the dough for at least 30 minutes to allow the gluten in the flour to relax. I did not do it in here as I am pressed for time.

Overall kids being kids, they sure have a sweet tooth because the boys came back telling me that there is not enough of the 40 pieces I have given them.

I am now toying with the idea to remake this on Teacher’s Day for this coming 1st September.

* 1/2 Cup Empty: It is indeed tiring to do project with Damir in such a rushed manner.

*1/2 Cup Full: I am thankful for the school to allow us busy parents to bond with our kids this way

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts:

This post is linked to 

Leave a Reply

