Ange’s Superb Egg Mayonnaise Sandwich

It has been some time since I made something for myself to work. These days I have been eating out very often at the fabulous food centers around my workplace in the heart of the Central Business District (CBD) area that I am getting a little sick in the tummy.

I cave for something fresh, crisp and juicy. And this is what I came out with:

Angie's Superb Egg Mayonnaise Sandwich

Of course starting work at 8.30am in the morning and having lunch only at 12.00pm in the afternoon is not going to keep that sandwich fresh all day without getting all soggy. So being a the bento lover I am, I had it organize it this way:

The Sandwich Bento

Each packed individually only to assemble it when you are ready to feast on it. If you have to know what is the Mickey Mouse doing in there, it is actually a container which I have place my butter in there as my bread spread.

This is a really easy peasy hassle free lunch to make. It can be made the night before you go to bed, wake up the next day and pop it into a lunch bag with an ice-pack on top before you walk out of that door to work.

The thing is to wash your vegetables and drain dry them really thoroughly before you put them in and close the lid. In here, I use my all time favourite-the coral lettuces. Other than that is really up to you.

I am also going to share the Egg Mayonnaise Recipe which can also be made the night before.

For the portion I had, there were:

  • 2 Medium Size Eggs
  • 2 Tbsp Mayonnaise
  • 1 Tsp Freshly grinded black pepper (Optional)
Method:
  1. Fully submerge the eggs in to a pot of water.
  2. Boil them for between 10 to 15 minutes (you will get hard-boiled eggs).
  3. Drain the hot water away and put the eggs into tap water to cool it down.
  4. Once cooled, peel the eggs.
  5. Put into a mixing bowl.
  6. Smash the eggs and mixed in the mayonnaise. You might want to grind in the black pepper as well.
  7. Put into the container as the above, cover and refrigerate.

That is it, easy peasy hassle free lunch for the next day.
** It is  important to pack in an ice-pack into the lunch bag to keep the greens fresh and crisp; and also prevent the egg mayonnaise from turning bad in our hot humid weather. 

~~~~~~

Possibly Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

